Logo for N.C. Cooperative Extension N.C. Cooperative Extension Homepage

Janice Dotson

District Administrative Associate
West District


  • Administrative support to Dr. Daniel B. Smith, Interim West District Extension Director and the 21 counties  (Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, Watauga and Yancey) plus the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians in the North Carolina Cooperative Extension West District


  • 1973 – Asheville-Buncombe Technical Institute Associate of Applied Science Degree in Secretarial Science
  • 1971 – T.C. Roberson High School


  • March 1984 – Present – Administrative Associate – West District Office, NCCES
  • May 1978 – March 1984 – County Extension Secretary – Buncombe County Center, NCCES

Honors and Awards

  • 2009 – NC State Grange Search for Excellence Team Award – Administrative and Leadership
  • 2009 – CALS Award of Excellence
  • 2009 – Sue Mills Lighthouse Award – NCCESA
  • 2000 – State Award of Meritorious Support Service, presented by Epsilon Sigma Phi
  • 2000 – Certificate of Excellence, N.C. Cooperative Extension Foundation
  • 1992 – Executive Board Award, presented by the N.C. Cooperative Extension Secretaries Association
  • 1992 – Director’s Award of Excellence for Special Leadership
  • 1990 – Certificate of Appreciation, presented by the N.C. Association of Agricultural Extension Secretaries (served as State President 1989-90)
  • 1986 – Secretary of the Year Award, presented by the N.C. Association of Agricultural Extension Secretaries, West District

Mountain Horticultural Crops Research & Extension Center
455 Research Drive
Mills River, NC 28759
Phone: 828-687-0570 ~ Fax: 828-681-0692
Email: janice_dotson@ncsu.edu

Page Last Updated: 1 year ago
Was the information on this page helpful? Yes check No close