4-H Hosts Annual Awards Celebration

— Written By N.C. Cooperative Extension

On Tuesday, February 21st, Burke County Cooperative Extension and Burke County 4-H hosted 4-H Achievement Night. Each year Burke County 4-H honors its 4-Hers and clubs by recognizing their accomplishments with annual awards. At this event, 4-Her’s are also receive awards for completing 4-H project record books and for their volunteer service in the community. 

This year Burke County 4-H was honored to have Senator Warren Daniel and Representative Hugh Blackwell in attendance as they helped recognize these 4-H accomplishments.

This year the following 4-Hers were recognized as blue ribbon winners for their 4-H project books: Avery Pollard, Emily Shuping, Sarah Wicker, Angelina Xiong, Aubrie Snyder, Charlie Yancey, Conner Laney, Amelia Tipton, Abigail Wicker, Nicholas Thompson, Burke Pollard, Tripp Berry, Wyatt Tipton, Zachary Loeseskann, Brianti Foster, Mollee Soirez, Pate Pollard, Will Fulmer, and Jamie Berry. 

Burke County 4-Her’s also work each year for 4-H Achievement Level Awards as they meet certain 4-H milestones. This year the following 4-Hers earned new achievement levels: Max Short-Cloverbud, Parker Jetter-Cloverbud, Angelina Xiong-Green, Brianti Foster-Green, Zachary Loeseskann-Green, Amelia Tipton-Bronze, Wyatt Tipton-Bronze, Conner Laney-Bronze, Nicholas Thompson-Bronze, Tripp Berry-Bronze, and Jamie Berry-Silver

Burke County 4-H gives out various special annual awards to honor the individual achievements of our 4-Her’s. This year Nicholas Thompson was the recipient of the 4-H “I Dare You!” award for his growing participation and enthusiasm for learning in 4-H. 

The Best 4-H Officer Award was given to Addison Starnes for her leadership as officer and leader for her club, the Clever Clovers 4-H Club. Addison will continue her leadership in 2012 as a county council officer. 

Jamie Berry, who served as our 2011 4-H County Council President received the Past President Award for her service in office 

Burke County 4-H also recognizes an Outstanding 4-Her of the Year. This year Burke Pollard was recognized as our Outstanding 4-Her of the Year for his participation in all avenues of 4-H and his willingness to share and teach others about his 4-H projects.

Burke County 4-H would like to thank all of the Burke County 4-Hers, volunteers, 4-H families and our community supporters for their dedication to the Extension 4-H program. 

If you would like more information about how your child and family can become involved in Burke County 4-H, please contact John Davis, Burke County 4-H Agent at (828) 439-4460 or by email at john_davis@ncsu.edu.